Interstellar

I know, I know, my tendancy to disappear for a few months is astonishingly normal if you follow my blog for a longer time period. Anyway, I do not want to waste much time to yet again focus on my lack of consistent writing. I rather want to write a little about Interstellar, the new highly anticipated film from Christopher Nolan. Did I like it? Yes. Was it as good as I hoped it would be? Sadly not.

Interstellar is starting off as a documentary, hence its‘ talking heads, who talk about the world before all the nature disasters which lead to the world humanity has to live in now: A world filled with dust, scarce food. There is no need to explore the space, so the history books were changed to „facts“ about not ever being on the moon. What is important is to harvest food to sustain the human race for a certain amount of years until it’s inevitable doom. That is a rather pessimistic view on the future, so luckily there are dreamers who want to go to space and search for another planet which the humans can inhibit and flourish again.

There is a lot of explaining in the first part of Interstellar. I agree with a lot of other critics saying that it could be done without so much talking. You can see how the world is now without having somebody explain it to the audience piece by piece. Nonetheless, it serves as an exposition to the two highlighted figures in this story: Cooper and his daughter Murph. First of all it has to be acknoledged how beautiful the cinematography is. I mean, all of Nolans films are nice to look at. Interestellar is no exception when it comes to a dystopian, ground-coloured view of the earth and later on futuristic frames of space and other planets. And here is also the gist: The ambition of Nolan and his brother, who came up with this story of finding a new home for the entire human race. The goal is not only to find a planet in our galaxy, but to go through a wormhole and look for a planet in another galaxy. Talk about high goals! This is so exciting if you think about it and yet…it does not work for me in Interstellar. The first half quickly turns into a space odyssey with no redeeming elements. It was not as enganging as I hoped it would be. I mean the stakes are high as ever, but somehow it just got a little dull. Maybe I needed more of the family dynamic to engange into the whole point of it in the first half (I know, it’s for humanity and not just one family but still).

As you can imagine the second half was better. There are the scenes who want you to get teary eyed and they succeed to do so. This are scenes on other planets, videos from the people on earth, the astonishing facts of the relativity of time within different gravitational areas. I really liked the soundtrack of it all, which was not so dominating Hans Zimmer music you are used to. Then there is a little „whaaat is happeningggg“-moment, which could be the moment you hate or love the movie even more. I liked it, it got to me. The connection between father and daughter is one I also appreciated in films like Trust, which was one of my favourites in the last years. It really comes down to the phrase „love is all you need“ which can be not too persuasive in realms of time and space traveling. This is kind of a new territory Nolan gets into and to which I have to get used to, I guess.

I applaude Nolan for attempting to tell such grand stories. Interstellar is unfortunately not as well executed in terms of enganging story line as Inception was for an action movie. As always you have to see it for yourselfs. Just approximately three hours, it’s worth it!

Schreibe einen Kommentar

