Work and how I kind of learned to ignore it

You probably know the feeling to have a passion you want to pursuit, but you still need food to eat? For me it’s taking photos and while working at my current job I can’t do this of course. At my work I just look at photos of others, which motivates me, but at the same time it’s frustrating to be stuck at work and not being able to work on my own photos. I still have some things to publish, but I want to get it right and not publish it without any words written beside it. I got a huge to-do list and the other work is just absorbing my time. When I come home I am either too tired and just want to relax or I always think there is not so much time, so I spend more quality time with other people.

I tend to ignore the work and think almost everytime at work what I have to do to get further in my photography progress. My next big things will be another site, a real site, not a wordpress thingy. Additionally I want to get more photoshoots, asap please 😀

Getting back to the distracting work: There is always the dream of making your hobby your main income. That would be awesome of course. Nowadays I get some jobs with photography, but this could never be sufficiant to pay for everything I need. What’s the solution? Put all my time into it and try „to make it“? Or keep on working at my boring job, but not being able to pursuit other projects as much as I want to? I guess I need to do the second thing for a little bit longer.

I listen to a lot of Earl Nightingale, a radio speaker from the 50s, who did a lot of speeches about motivation, success and how to get it. In a lot of his speeches he describes success as the progressive realization of a worthy goal or ideal. I am lazy and forget a lot of things, therefore I need to listen to this almost every day to get it in my head. But when I eventually get it for the day I get quite motivated and do my boring work just as good, but with more fun, realizing that I will put this money not only into food etc, rather getting the needs for the other path I want to pursuit. It is always good to have a goal and to keep this in mind every day, even if you are currently not doing something right now in order to achieve it. I guess it’s really a mind thing (as always) and it needs to be nourished with good goals.

Kommentar verfassen

